Chapters – Nigeria

Nigerian Paediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus Society (NIPOSS)

Executive Members:
Chairman: Dr. Dupe Ademola – Popoola
Vice Chairman: Dr. Modupe Idris
Secretary: Dr. Adedayo Adio
Treasurer: Dr. Patricia Wade

Contact Person: Dr. Adedayo Adio


Upcoming Meeting

1. Annual Congress of the Ophthalmological Society of Nigeria (OSN)
Date: Thursday 30th August-Saturday 1st September, 2018
Venue: NICON Luxury hotel, Abuja, Nigeria.

2.Nigerian Paediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus Society (NIPOSS) Sub-Specialty Meeting
Date: 31st August 2018
Venue: NICON Luxury hotel, Abuja, Nigeria
Theme: Early detection for early intervention for child eye health.
This meeting will feature the Annual Marilyn Miller Lecture, Symposia, Academic Paper Presentations and a Practical Session on Opinions in Clinical Paediatric Ophthalmology.
The Registration fee for this meeting is 150 dollars.
For more information on how to attend, please contact the secretary NIPOSS, Dr. Adedayo Adio ( or +2348033108139).

Upcoming Courses
1. Annual long term training in pediatric ophthalmology and strabismus
All medical doctors who have completed a general ophthalmology training fellowship with certification in Nigeria and neighbouring African countries please take note; A new batch of Paediatric Ophthalmology Trainees will commence their training on the 1st of January 2019.
Applications will be accepted from the 1st of June 2018 and 30th November 2018. All applications should be sent to the Fellowship Training Program Director Prof. Ose Dawodu at

Listed below are the names of approved training institutions & their training directors:


University College Hospital, Ibadan
University of Benin Teaching Hospital, PMB 1111, Benin City
University of Ilorin Teaching Hospital, Ilorin
Eye Foundation Hospital, Ikeja, Lagos
University of Calabar Teaching Hospital, Calabar
University of Jos Teaching Hospital, Jos
University of PortHarcourt teaching hospital, PortHarcourt
For more information, please contact Dr. Adedayo Adio

Prof. Baiyeroju
Prof. Oseluese Dawodu
Dr. Dupe Ademola – Popoola
Dr. Mildred Ulaikere
Dr. Roseline Duke
Dr. Patricia Wade
Dr. Adedayo Adio

2. University of Port Harcourt teaching hospital(UPTH) Orthoptics Training Course
The Department of Ophthalmology, UPTH, Rivers State, Nigeria, in collaboration with the International Orthoptics Association (IOA) & Nigerian Paediatric Ophthalmology & Strabismus Society (NIPOSS) will be conducting a 6-month Orthoptics Training Course from 4th June to 30th November, 2018. Interested individuals are requested to contact Dr. Adedayo Adio. For more information on the same, Click here.

3. Crash Course on Evaluation of Low Vision
The Lens Eye Foundation for the Blind, Port Harcourt, Nigeria will be conducting a One Day Crash Course on the Evaluation of Low Vision in Nigeria, on Saturday, the 8th of September 2018. This course is open to the busy resident and any curious consultant(s) in ophthalmology. Drs. Linda Lawrence, Charles Bekibele and Adedayo Adio will be the resource persons. Live patients will be present for hands-on demonstrations. The course will be held at the Olayiwola Omoni Conference Room on the 2nd floor, The Lens Eye Foundation for the Blind, Port Harcourt & is expected to run from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm. Registration fee is 50 dollars for Residents and 75 dollars for Consultants. Contact Dr. Adedayo Adio for more information.

World Society of Paediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus
Temple House, Temple Road, Blackrock, Co. Dublin, Ireland

Phone:+ 353 1 288 3630
Fax:+353 1 209 1112

World Society of Paediatric Ophthalmology and Stabismus is a registered Charity with the U.K. Charities Commission (Charity Registration Number ;1144806) (Registered November 2011)

Site Developed by Agenda Communications | Copyright 2019 | Privacy Policy